HAPPY 90th ANNIVERSARY, MR. SONNY “Saxophone Colossus” ROLLINS!!!

Dear Mr. Rollins —

You have been, and you still are, one of my main inspirations. And I’m just a trumpeter. Since I heard your grandiose album Sonny Rollins in Sweden, or your highly praised encounter with your own master, Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Meets Hawk, I knew immediately, that this was the way to go.

Your impeccable phrasing, your storytelling on the saxophone, your humor, and your ability to make even the silliest songs sound great, make the world a better place for me.

You are one of a kind; and I hope that they have written many, many articles about you, and I can strongly recommend all radio stations to play your music ’round the clock on this very day!

I will spin now one of your finest LPs ever: Tour De Force, an album which puts everyone to shame who thinks he can play a fairly fast Cherokee. I think this is the fastest version ever, and it will remain so.

Happy 90th Anniversary, Sir Rollins!

This entry was posted in Anniversary, Cherokee, Saxophone, Sonny Rollins, Soul, Sweden. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to HAPPY 90th ANNIVERSARY, MR. SONNY “Saxophone Colossus” ROLLINS!!!

  1. Andreas Giefer says:

    Sehr schöner herzwärmender Post!

    Von meinem iPhone gesendet

    >

Comments are closed.