My Favorite Blues Improvisation: LESTER ‘PRES’ YOUNG with his SLOW MOTION BLUES from March 1951

This beautiful improvisation on the blues has changed my life. I played differently from the moment on I heard Lester Young’s “Slow Motion Blues” for the very first time.

My special thanks goes to the late Dieter Zimmerle and his half-hour radio portrait on the “President of the Tenorsax”, broadcasted on the SDR to Lester’s 75th anniversary, on August 27, 1984.

The “video” is featuring a copy of the photo, I was always carrying with me from the mid-1980′s to the early 1990′s.

Lester Young (ts) John Lewis (p) Gene Ramey (b) Jo Jones (d) – NYC, March 8, 1951

Although I would always recommend to go for the LP, I know that a nice CD will make the most of you happy too. And so, feel free to go HERE, or to some other place on the internet.

And now?

Just enjoy!

This entry was posted in Jazz Stories & Tales, Invented Truths & Actual Happenings. Bookmark the permalink.